This website was created for a project for my Master's of Education in Teacher-Librarianship through the University of Alberta. This critical review of of children's book illustrator and author, Christopher Myers, is for my course examining literature for children and young adults. I was initially drawn to Myers' illustrations because I am attracted to vivid images that express emotion and because I love the blues. As well,  the content of Blues Journey has tremendous potential for the classroom exploration of numerous themes related to the black experience in North America. It could serve not only as a jumping off point for a similarly-themed novel, but could also be used as a study of and experimentation with this particular artistic style.  Although the themes are serious and somewhat mature, they would definitely be appropriate for older children and teens. I hope that you find Myers' work as rich, expressive and thought-provoking as I do. I welcome your comments.
Ken De'Ath
7/18/2010 09:55:35 am

Hey Selena,

I have always loved blues music and its heart-felt message - your selection of illustrator reflects that message exactly.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Selena Jensen

    "Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life."
    Pablo Picasso

    Archives

    July 2010

    Categories

    All